About ILAR

Established in 1927 and reincorporated in 2007, the International League of Associations for Rheumatology’s (ILAR) mission is to advance rheumatology in developing countries. The ILAR Executive Committee consists of the Presidents and Presidents-Elect of ACR, EULAR, PANLAR, APLAR and AFLAR. Read the ILAR Bylaws.

ILAR is committed to advancing rheumatology in developing countries and issues annual grants that lead to progress in the practice and education of rheumatology in countries where there is an exceptional need. Since 2008 ILAR has donated over donated over 1.7M dollars to fund over 92 projects worldwide.

The ILAR journal, Clinical Rheumatology is an international fully indexed peer-reviewed publication devoted to publishing original clinical investigation and research in the general field of rheumatology.

ILAR Partner Organizations

  • American College of Rheumatology – ACR
  • African League of Associations for Rheumatology – AFLAR
  • Asia Pacific League of Associations for Rheumatology – APLAR
  • European League Against Rheumatism – EULAR
  • Pan American League of Associations for Rheumatology – PANLAR

Executive Committee

The ILAR Executive Committee consists of the presidents and presidents-elect of partner organizations ACR, EULAR, PANLAR, APLAR, and AFLAR. To contact any member of the executive committee, email ilar@rheumatology.org

Douglas White
Douglas White, MD, PhD (Chair)
ACR President
Gundersen Lutheran – Onalaska Clinic
Onalaksa, WI USA
Daniel Alataha
Daniel Alataha, MD
EULAR President
Dept of Rheumatology
Medical University of Vienna
Vienna Austria



Miguel Albanese
Miguel Albanese, MD
PANLAR President
CASMU Rheumatology Service
Rheumatologist of the Evangelical Hospital
Montevidedo Uruguay


Antonio Cachafeiro
Antonio Cachafeiro, MD
PANLAR President-Elect
Hospital Punta Pacifica
Panama City, Panama
Debasish Danda
Debashish Danda, MD
APLAR President
Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology
Christian Medical College
Vellore Tamilnadu India
Dzifa Dey
Ida Dzifa Dey, MD
AFLAR President
The Department of Medicine and Therapeutics
Korle-bu Teaching Hospital
Accra Ghana
Deborah Desir
Deborah Dyett Desir, MD
ACR President-Elect
New Haven Medical Center
Yale School of Medicine
Hamden, CT USA
Xenofon Baraliakos
Xenofon Baraliakos, MD
EULAR President-Elect
Ruhrgebiet Rheumatism Center
University Hospital-Ruhr University Bochum
Herne, Germany
Fredrick Otieno
Fredrick Otieno Owuor, MD
AFLAR President-Elect
The Department of Medicine
Aga Khan University Hospital
Nairobi, Kenya

Tsutomu Takeuchi
Tsutomu Takeuchi, MD, PhD
APLAR President-Elect
Division of Rheum School of Medicine
Keio University
Tokyo Japan
Carlos Pineda
Carlos Pineda, MD
Editor, Clinical Rheumatology
Instituto Nacional de Rehabilitacion Luis Guillermo Ibarra Ibarra
Mexico City Mexico